Managing Duplicates and Conflicts
Click on the underlined links to find out more.
A situation may occur during the first folder synchronization when identical Microsoft Outlook items are found on different PCs. Such items are called duplicates. It can also happen that the same synchronized Outlook item is modified on different PCs. In this case, a conflict between item versions is caused during the synchronization process, therefore these versions are called conflicts.
Duplicates and conflicts are identified during the synchronization process. Two identical items are discovered - one of them in a local database, the other on a server.
Synchronizer recognizes conflicts and duplicates automatically and resolves them. You can specify the preferred options for resolving of duplicates and conflicts on the Synchronization Options tab of the OutShare Settings form. Once you have specified these options, all duplicates and conflicts found during synchronization are resolved according to your selected options.
If you have selected manual conflicts and duplicates resolving, and duplicates or conflicts are found during the synchronization process, the Show Conflicts button is activated on the main Synchronizer window so you could review and manage resolving options on the Duplicates and Conflicts form.* Moreover, you can see that duplicates and conflicts have occurred in particular folders on the main Synchronizer window in the Status column or due to Synchronizer icon on the taskbar notification area: . You can also see that duplicates and conflicts have occurred on the Synchronization History form. In this case the Conflicts or Duplicates status is displayed in the Status column.
* If duplicates/conflicts occur during the further synchronization processes, the Show Conflicts button stays activated.
Important: If you have selected automatic conflicts and duplicates resolving, conflicts and duplicates will be resolved automatically and the Show Conflicts button will not be activated.
Furthermore, the Duplicates and Conflicts form provides additional form for advanced duplicates and conflicts resolving, where you can view and manage each of the found duplicate/conflict items separately. Additionally, you can merge two conflict/duplicate item fields into one manually or using automatic merging options there.